Sturt Marion Soccer Club

Sturt Marion Portfolio

Sturt Marion Thunder Soccer Club Inc can trace its origins back to the history of two soccer clubs Sturt Soccer Club and Orange Soccer Club.

Sturt Soccer Club was formed in 1907 in the SA Soccer Federation (SASF) as the second oldest club in SA. Orange Soccer Club was formed by Dutch migrants in 1954 (under the SASF banner). The 2 clubs amalgamated in 1963 to become Orange/Sturt playing in orange and blue colours. Home venue was established at  Mortlock  Park Colonel  Light  Gardens . Orange/Sturt competed in its final season in 1983 as a part of the SASF 3rd Division in the metropolitan league

In 1984 several members of Orange/Sturt rebadged the club to Sturt Marion and joined the newly established SA Amateur Soccer League (SAASL) Saturday amateurs. In the early days games were played at  Daws  Road  High School . In 1986 the club moved grounds to Club Marion through the hard work of the Club President Dennis Billinghurst.

In 1991 under the name Sturt Marion, the club was runner up to Elizabeth Field in the Consolation Cup. loosing 6-5 on penalties after finishing 1-1 after extra time. The Club won the 1999 Reserve Grade Division 2 Championship. After a brief stint in Division 1 in the early 2000’s the club returned to Division 2 where it established itself as a regular title contender but just falling short. The in 2008 the Club became A Grade Division 2 Champions.

2009 saw 25th year celebrations of the SAASL Saturday League with Sturt Marion,  Adelaide  University and Flinders  University  the only surviving original clubs. Both Sturt Marion and  Adelaide  University  in the First (Premier) Division.

In recent years the Club adopted the nickname of the ‘Thunder’ and the Club name become Sturt Marion Thunder Soccer Club Inc. The Club is now firmly entrenched in Premier Grade and boasts strong Reserve Grade and Division 6 (C grade) sides.